This lovely Sunday morning I would like to start with apologising for not posting that often any longer. It has nothing to do with cooking, shooting or eating itself. I have in fact got myself a new job (hurrah!). This first weeks I have been working fulltime which is something I haven’t done since 2003. In the evenings I am just too exhausted to do anything at all and the weekends are so short as I need to fit in all those things that I don’t get done during the week. On the good side, I do enjoy my work, the weather is fantastic at the moment and we enjoy long, cosy evenings on our roof terrace. The pics from this dish are shot on the new terrace sofa late one evening and I have to say I really like the light. However shooting a rice pudding and making it look appetizing is not an easy task…
This dish is typical in Thailand and I had it in one of those small food stalls you see everywhere in Bangkok. I got it served with papaya however I think mango works better with the coconut. It’s really quick to make and I love to eat it after a lighter meal, like a soup.

Serves 4-6

250g dessert (pudding) rice
400 ml coconut milk
400 ml milk
75g palm sugar (or brown sugar)
1/4 tsp salt
1 mango or other tropical fruit
shredded coconut

Add the rice, coconut milk, milk, palm sugar and salt to a sauce pan. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and let cook 15-20 minutes until the rice is soft and cooked through. Try not to stir too much as this will break up the grains and create a very sticky, gluey rice lump!
Serve while still warm with fruit and the shredded coconut.

