A month ago Eric and myself had a party to celebrate me turning the big 4 0 (a bit early cos my birthday is not until next week but it just turned out better that way) and to celebrate Eric’s birthday and the amazing fact that Eric’s book ‘Look sir, a bird’ has been published!!! It looks absolutely fab and I am so proud of him! He’s been interviewed in the local news paper and both the local radio and TV station are interested too!
If anyone would like to buy it, it’s available here.
Anyway, for the party I had made this tzatziki (among lots of other tasty stuff!) and some people were asking for the recipe. So I thought I share it here!

500g Greek or Turkish yoghurt
1/2 cucumber
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tbsp fresh mint, chopped + extra for garnish if you like
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp white wine vinegar
salt and pepper

Add the yoghurt to a bowl. Peel the cucumber (I always use my cheese slicer to do this). Grate the cucumber finely. Carefully squeeze out the water with your hands (a bit at the time works the best). Add the grated cucumber, garlic and mint to the yoghurt, stir to combine. Pour in the oil and vinegar, again stir to combine. Season with salt and a bit of pepper. Keep cool in the fridge for a few hours before serving. Or make it a day in advance.

