I am just amazed with all the gorgeous things you can cook with pumpkin! I love it in pasta dishes, roasted in the oven, as a part of casserole… and as soup. Growing up in Sweden we never had pumpkin so my first encounter with this goodie was when I worked in America as an au-pair in the beginning of the nineties. I got this rich, creamy, velvety soup. I still remember how its orangey colour matched with the autumn leaves on the trees outside. Over the years I have tried several different kinds of pumpkin soup, this Asian inspired using butternut squash, rather than pumpkin, and coconut milk being my favourite.

Serves 4
2 tbsp sunflower oil
3 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
1 red chilli pepper, finely chopped
1 tsp grounded cumin seeds
1 tsp grounded coriander seeds
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp paprika powder
1 kg butternut squash, peeled, seeds removed and cut in chunks
2 carrots, peeled and cut in chunks
200 ml coconut milk
3 tbsp Thai fish sauce
2 tbsp lime juice
2 tsp salt
2 tbsp coriander leaves, roughly chopped

Heat the oil in a large pan. Add the garlic, pepper and the spices and fry on medium heat for 1 minute, allowing the spices to release their flavours. Add the chunks of pumpkin and carrot, stir well to get all pieces coated.
Add 1500 ml of water to the pan and bring to boil. Reduce to medium/low heat and let the soup gently boil for 25-30 minutes until the pumpkin and carrot are soft.
Puree the soup with a hand blender. Add the coconut milk, fish sauce and lime juice. Bring up to a simmer and add the salt. Pour in to serving bowls and garnish with the coriander.