We are off to Stockholm for the weekend. To get in the right mood I made this tasty sponge cake which reminds me of home. I have made this sponge cake for as long as I can remember. Often I make it plain but adding cocoa as in this one or exchanging the water with lemon juice are delicious options too. Sometimes I add slices of apple sprinkled with cinnamon for an easy apple cake.
Growing up my mum always made it as base for birthday cakes (slice it in half and fill with whipped cream and strawberries). Preferable eaten outside in our garden in the summer with a glass of homemade juice. Oh, this brings back so many memories!

3 eggs
180 grams sugar
3 tbsp water
180 grams all-purpose flour
2 tbsp cocoa

Preheat the oven to 175°C.
Grease and flour a pan (sponge cakes shouldn’t be baked in a greased and floured pan, but I always do to prevent it to get stuck).
Beat the eggs with the sugar in a mixing bowl until white and creamy. Add the water. Carefully sieve and fold the flour into the batter. Pour half of the batter in to another bowl. Fold the cocoa carefully into the batter in one of the bowls. Gently spoon the batters in to the pan to create a pattern. Bake for about 30 minutes or until wooden toothpick inserted comes out clean.

I haven’t been to Stockholm for 15 years so I am really looking forward to go. It will be lots of fun to show Eric around too! Also, I am very curious about what kind of culinary delights Stockholm has on offer. Hopefully I come back with lots of inspiration and new ideas!