This is a version of a prosciutto and mozzarella salad I got served in Italy, meant to be a vegetarian dish! The waiter looked very confused when I, in my homemade Italian, tried to explain that ham comes from a pig and I wouldn’t be able to eat that. Apparently ham falls under the category veggie food in Italy (or at least in this waiters mind!).
So instead of ham I thought I try figs. Last week I could still get fresh figs at the market. I hope they still sell them so you can try out this delicious recipe. The figs go so well with the mozzarella. I advice to prepare the salad well in advance, even a day before serving, as the flavours will come out better then.

Serves 4

2 mozzarella balls (about 250 gram in total)
4 figs
olive oil
salt and pepper
mint leaves

Cut the mozzarella balls into 1 cm thick slices. Gently wash the figs, let dry and cut into thin slices. Decorate on a plate. Add a drizzle of olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Decorate with the mint leaves.

Funny thing is, photographing this dish wasn’t very easy and on most pictures the figs looks more like slabs of meat than slices of figs…!