One of my favourite ingredients is chickpeas. I love their nutty flavour, it’s super healthy and the cooking options are endless. Abroad I have had the opportunity to try different delicious dishes such as chickpeas soup in Portugal, moorish styled warm chickpeas salad in Spain, spicy roasted chickpeas in India and the ‘can never go wrong’ hummus off course. One of my favourite dishes using chickpeas is this salad. I love the combination of the peas with the fresh herbs, sun-kissed tomatoes and salty feta. And it is super easy to make too!


Serves 4

4 spring onions, chopped
4 large (Roma) tomatoes, chopped
425 g canned chickpeas, drained
1 tbsp dill, chopped
2 tbsp basil, chopped
150 g feta, crumbled
1 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper

Combine all in a bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Keep cool before serving. The flavours come out even better if you make it a day in advance.
You can serve it like this in separate bowls, or dressed on a large serving plate on rocket leaves. Sometimes for a party I decorate the salad with warm prawns, cooked in oil and garlic.