Menemen is a well-known Turkish scrambled egg dish with a spicy twist. It is perfect for Sunday brunch I think. Serve it with a piece of Turkish bread and with some cheese and black olives on the side. I tried it in the small town of Kaş (western Mediterranean) and my wonderful Turkish friend Aysen, who also happens to be a fantastic cook, has made it for me as well. This is my version.

Serves 2

2 juicy tomatoes, chopped in cubes
1 green chili pepper, thinly sliced
1 small onion, shopped
4 eggs
1 tbsp olive oil
Salt and pepper

Saute the onion and chili pepper in a small pre-heated skillet with olive oil until soft but not brown. Add the tomatoes and cook for a few minutes until soft. Crack the eggs into the skillet and scramble until eggs are fairly firm but the entire dish is slightly moist. Season with salt and pepper.