Until now I haven’t posted any Dutch recipes. I have lived here for 10 years so you might think I would have a whole bunch. But… no. I have to say that even though I love lots of Dutch things (like that you can bicycle everywhere, even the smallest village has a café, everything is close by cos it’s such a small country and people talk to each other in the train) the food isn’t my favourite. It is, to me, rather bland, no exciting spice or herb combinations, it contains lots of meat and the vegetables and potatoes are often boiled.  So usually I cook some other cuisine. However a while ago we had a photo shoot in the beautiful town Nijmegen with a lovely friend of mine who is a professional photographer. Unfortunately we had not the best weather so we had to take shelter in a little café. They were serving something called Riefkoeken, a delicacy local to the area. A Riefkoek is a bit like a Rösti but different. I never heard of these potato cakes before and was pleasantly surprised. It’s perfect for lunch, as an afternoon snack or maybe even served with the evening meal. And I am so happy to have found something Dutch which is very tasty and I can’t wait to make them again!
Ps. If you feel like it, click here to view the results of the photo shoot.

Makes 10-12 cakes

500g potatoes, peeled and cut in halves
2 onions, peeled and cut in halves
2 eggs
3 tbsp flour
2 tbsp soy sauce
0,5 tbsp sambal
Black pepper
Butter or oil for cooking

Grate the potatoes and onions. Add to a mixing bowl. Add the remaining ingredients except the butter/oil. Stir to combine.
Heat the butter or oil in a frying pan to medium heat. Add about 2 tablespoons of the mixture to the pan, shape it in to a flat cake, pressing down lightly. Cook on both sides until golden a crisp (a few minutes on both sides). Obviously you can cook more cakes at the same time.