This apple pie is a family favourite and has been for many years. The recipe comes from my mother’s aunt Signe. When I was small we use to visit her and her sister a few times a year. The 2 ladies never got married and lived their whole lives together in a large, old house. My dad would help them with minor reparations around the house, my mum would assist in pickling and preserving fruits (they had a huge fruit and vegetable garden) and me and my sisters would (un)patiently wait for the big treat, the apple pie! Soft, juicy apples covered with that nutty, crunchy blanket of dough and usually served with a thick creamy custard. Heavenly!
Both the aunts passed away a long time ago now but the apple pie is still something we often treat ourselves to. This time I had a little helper making it (whose favourite food is, guess…., apple pie!) and his lovely mother helped with the pictures (check out her site here!).
This recipe is also my contribution to the sweet of the month on this blog.

6 apples
125g butter
120g sugar
1 tsp vanilla sugar
100g almond flour *
60g all-purpose flour
1 egg

*You can either use almond flour from the store or you can get whole almonds and grind yourself. I have this nifty little grinder from Sweden, though I am sure you could use a food processor or a blender too.

Preheat the oven to 200C°.
Peel and slice the apples.
Beat butter, sugar and vanilla powder in a bowl for 5-8 minutes until pale and creamy. Add the almond flour, flour and the egg, stir to combine. The dough should be a bit sticky.
Brush a quiche tin with butter. Decorate with the apples and add the dough in small patches. It should look a bit like a quilt!
Bake in the oven for about 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.
Serve warm on its own or with custard or vanilla ice cream.