The oldest backpacker I ever met was an American guy who stayed in the same hostel as us in North of Mexico. He was 86 years old, walked with a stick and was completely deaf. He travelled together with a friend who was 72 and a little bit less deaf. The two of them would rent a taxi for the day to cruise around the Copper Canyon. In the evenings they would tell about their adventures around the common dinner table. When making (hard) decisions for the future, this guy often pops up in my mind to tell me that I am never too old to start a new journey and the only thing preventing me to do so is myself. I am about to make quite a few important decisions so the old man is visiting me rather often these days…!
The only time I ate chilli in Mexico was in this hostel. To be honest I can’t really remember much of it (I was too intrigued by the old guys stories…) except that it was vegetarian and vegetarian food in Mexico is (it was 10 years ago on my last visit!) a rarity. To me it’s comfort food, something that I need… when I have to make some tough decisions…

Serves 2-3

1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 green chili, cut in slices
1 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp paprika powder
180g minced tofu
400g (1 can) of chili beans (kidney beans are fine too)
400g (1 can) of whole tomatoes
100g of sweet corn
salt and pepper

On medium heat, heat the oil and cook the onion, garlic and green chili for a few minutes. Add the paprika powder and cumin. Stir to combine and cook for another couple of minutes. Add the minced tofu, stir to combine. Add the canned beans, tomatoes and corn. Stir to combine. Break up the tomatoes with a wooden spoon. Season with salt and pepper. Cook for 7-10 minutes until everything is cooked though.
Serve with sour cream, sliced avocado and tortilla chips.