I had never realised that you actually can make your own bagels. Until a few days ago when I saw a picture my sister had put on Facebook of her home-made golden buns. So I thought, if she can…! Have to say that the result turned out very good. They for sure look the way bagels should. The consistency turned out firm and a tiny bit chewy (as it should). Flavour wise it was more of a bun than a bagel which I think had to do with a slightly too short boiling time. So I have adjusted that in my recipe. We ate them with the traditional filling of cream cheese and smoked salmon which for some reason I can’t put my finger on just works so well.
My favourite place for bagels is a café here in town called de Goudsche bagel. I have to admit that if I go here for lunch I choose for salmon and cream cheese too… Maybe because that is how a learned to eat them some 19 years ago (my god, I am getting old!) in the US. Maybe it’s time to eat my bagel with something else… so if any readers have some good ideas, let me know!

Makes 12

300g bread flour
150g whole wheat flour
1 tsp salt
7g (1 sachet) dried yeast
3 eggs
1 tsp honey
2 tsp sunflower oil
200 ml tepid water
Sesame seeds and/or poppy seeds

Put the flour in a large mixing bowl and stir in the salt and yeast. Make a well in the centre.
In a separate bowl, lightly whisk 2 of the eggs together with the honey and the oil. Pour into the well in the flour. Add the water and mix to a dough.
Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead for a good 10 minutes until smooth and elastic. Put back in the bowl, cover with a tea towel and leave to rise in a warm place for 45 minutes.
Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead lightly. Divide the dough into 12 equal pieces. Form each into a 15 cm long log. Shape in to a ring, gently pinching the ends together to seal.
Put a lightly oiled baking sheet on a baking tray. Arrange the bagels on the sheet. Cover with a tea towel and leave to rise in a warm place for 20 minutes.
Preheat the oven to 200ºC . Bring a large pan of lightly salted water to a boil. Drop the bagels into the water, one or two at the time, and cook for 30 seconds. Lift out with a large draining spoon and return to the baking sheet.
Lightly beat the remaining egg and brush it over the bagels. Sprinkle with sesame or poppy seeds. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until well risen and golden brown. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.